Solar Performance Tracker

In 2014, Prime Minister Narendra Modi set a goal of reaching 100 GW of solar power generation capacity by 2022. In order to achieve this ambitious target, state governments must increase their rate of solar capacity growth. The Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE) has assigned each state a solar capacity target. The Indian States Solar Energy Performance Tracker is a tool to monitor the progress states have made in reaching this target.

Goal Summary

National Target Contribution

Each Indian state has been assigned a solar power capacity target that it needs to achieve in order for India as a whole to reach 100 GW of solar power by 2022. State targets are based on their potential to produce solar power, including land area and days of sun per year, and thus vary widely. This map represents each state’s solar capacity target as a percentage of the national target.

  • Union Territory of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands
  • Andhra Pradesh
  • Arunachal Pradesh
  • Assam
  • Bihar
  • Union Territory of Chandigarh
  • Chhattisgarh
  • Dadra and Nagar Haveli
  • Union Territory of Daman and Diu
  • Delhi
  • Goa
  • Gujarat
  • Haryana
  • Himachal Pradesh
  • Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir
  • Jharkhand
  • Karnataka
  • Kerala
  • Union Territory of Lakshadweep
  • Madhya Pradesh
  • Maharashtra
  • Manipur
  • Meghalaya
  • Mizoram
  • Nagaland
  • Odisha
  • Puducherry
  • Punjab
  • Rajasthan
  • Sikkim
  • Tamil Nadu
  • Telangana
  • Tripura
  • Uttar Pradesh
  • Uttarakhand
  • West Bengal
Loading map...

Individual State Targets

This chart tracks the progress each state has made towards reaching its own target for solar power capacity.

Union Territory of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands achieved 29.91 of 27MW
110.77% 27MW
Union Territory of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands
Target: 27MW
Achieved: 29.91MW
Andhra Pradesh achieved 4524.72 of 9834MW
46.01% 9834MW
Andhra Pradesh
Target: 9834MW
Achieved: 4524.72MW
Arunachal Pradesh achieved 11.52 of 39MW
29.53% 39MW
Arunachal Pradesh
Target: 39MW
Achieved: 11.52MW
Assam achieved 147.92 of 663MW
22.31% 663MW
Target: 663MW
Achieved: 147.92MW
Bihar achieved 192.89 of 2493MW
7.73% 2493MW
Target: 2493MW
Achieved: 192.89MW
Union Territory of Chandigarh achieved 58.69 of 153MW
38.35% 153MW
Union Territory of Chandigarh
Target: 153MW
Achieved: 58.69MW
Chhattisgarh achieved 944.22 of 1783MW
52.95% 1783MW
Target: 1783MW
Achieved: 944.22MW
Dadra and Nagar Haveli achieved 5.46 of 449MW
1.21% 449MW
Dadra and Nagar Haveli
Target: 449MW
Achieved: 5.46MW
Union Territory of Daman and Diu achieved 41.01 of 199MW
20.6% 199MW
Union Territory of Daman and Diu
Target: 199MW
Achieved: 41.01MW
Delhi achieved 211.48 of 2762MW
7.65% 2762MW
Target: 2762MW
Achieved: 211.48MW
Goa achieved 26.40 of 358MW
7.37% 358MW
Target: 358MW
Achieved: 26.4MW
Gujarat achieved 8500.74 of 8020MW
105.99% 8020MW
Target: 8020MW
Achieved: 8500.74MW
Haryana achieved 990.67 of 4142MW
23.91% 4142MW
Target: 4142MW
Achieved: 990.67MW
Himachal Pradesh achieved 87.39 of 776MW
11.26% 776MW
Himachal Pradesh
Target: 776MW
Achieved: 87.39MW
Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir achieved 48.90 of 1155MW
4.23% 1155MW
Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir
Target: 1155MW
Achieved: 48.9MW
Jharkhand achieved 94.91 of 1995MW
4.75% 1995MW
Target: 1995MW
Achieved: 94.91MW
Karnataka achieved 7885.57 of 5697MW
138.41% 5697MW
Target: 5697MW
Achieved: 7885.57MW
Kerala achieved 688.35 of 1870MW
36.81% 1870MW
Target: 1870MW
Achieved: 688.35MW
Union Territory of Lakshadweep achieved 3.27 of 4MW
81.75% 4MW
Union Territory of Lakshadweep
Target: 4MW
Achieved: 3.27MW
Madhya Pradesh achieved 2463.22 of 5675MW
43.4% 5675MW
Madhya Pradesh
Target: 5675MW
Achieved: 2463.22MW
Maharashtra achieved 3646.13 of 11926MW
30.57% 11926MW
Target: 11926MW
Achieved: 3646.13MW
Manipur achieved 12.28 of 105MW
11.69% 105MW
Target: 105MW
Achieved: 12.28MW
Meghalaya achieved 4.15 of 161MW
2.57% 161MW
Target: 161MW
Achieved: 4.15MW
Mizoram achieved 8.01 of 72MW
11.12% 72MW
Target: 72MW
Achieved: 8.01MW
Nagaland achieved 3.04 of 61MW
4.98% 61MW
Target: 61MW
Achieved: 3.04MW
Odisha achieved 452.72 of 2377MW
19.04% 2377MW
Target: 2377MW
Achieved: 452.72MW
Puducherry achieved 35.53 of 246MW
14.44% 246MW
Target: 246MW
Achieved: 35.53MW
Punjab achieved 1153.21 of 4772MW
24.16% 4772MW
Target: 4772MW
Achieved: 1153.21MW
Rajasthan achieved 16340.75 of 5762MW
283.59% 5762MW
Target: 5762MW
Achieved: 16340.75MW
Sikkim achieved 4.68 of 36MW
13% 36MW
Target: 36MW
Achieved: 4.68MW
Tamil Nadu achieved 6412.36 of 8884MW
72.17% 8884MW
Tamil Nadu
Target: 8884MW
Achieved: 6412.36MW
Telangana achieved 4650.93 of 5000MW
93.01% 5000MW
Target: 5000MW
Achieved: 4650.93MW
Tripura achieved 16.67 of 105MW
15.87% 105MW
Target: 105MW
Achieved: 16.67MW
Uttar Pradesh achieved 2485.16 of 10697MW
23.23% 10697MW
Uttar Pradesh
Target: 10697MW
Achieved: 2485.16MW
Uttarakhand achieved 575.46 of 900MW
63.94% 900MW
Target: 900MW
Achieved: 575.46MW
West Bengal achieved 179.83 of 5336MW
3.37% 5336MW
West Bengal
Target: 5336MW
Achieved: 179.83MW